Looking for a new home

The WordPress experience as an editor has become frankly intolerable. The brand new Blocks feature, which is supposed to be innovative and helpful, is instead obnoxiously slow. I wrote this post out in Notepad and copy-pasted it in, because typing on WordPress is now like someone poured wallpaper paste into your laptop.

Typing on the actual site is now j…u…s…t… l…i…k…e… t…h…i…s – and it’s actually vertigo-inducing. This post so far, took me less than a couple of minutes to type. On the new “improved” WordPress, it would take me closer to ten minutes.

There are many people out there who will insist that WordPress Works For Them and that Blocks is a good thing. I can only say – good for them. It certainly is not working for me. Blocks is horrid. Worst of all, when I am trying to edit text in Blocks, the site erases my text and then asks me if I want to try recovering it. It cannot do so. It basically deletes my work irretrievably. This is very disappointing. (And why does that damn text editing box INSIST on covering up text you are trying to work on and edit and actually READ? So counterintuitive).

I am currently investigating other blogging platforms. It’s a shame, because I still like so much about WordPress, but the blog-writing process is now so needlessly effortful that I am becoming totally alienated.

Currently looking at Medium, but if you can recommend any other decent blogging platforms that offer what WordPress used to do I would be most interested.

Leave a comment